Purpose

The first couple chapters of my Genesis study through BSF, we have talked a lot about purpose.  What is the purpose of God’s creation, what is the purpose of man, and on a more personal level what is my purpose?  This is a question that I have been asking myself since a blood clot nearly took my life on December 28th, 2007, and to be quite honest, I am not sure I know the answer yet.

In a situation like that, you want to hold your loved ones closer and tighter, put aside trivial things that don’t matter and tell those that you really care about how much you love them.  The things of this world don’t matter and you have clarity of what is truly important while you are here on this earth.  I wish I could say that feeling never goes away…but as you get further and further away from it, life gets in the way.  The trivial things begin to matter again and you stop telling those you care about how much you love and appreciate them, and you stop asking the question what is the purpose of why you are still here?

If you have been in a similar situation, you may have asked yourself the same things I have asked above or you may have different thoughts and questions entirely!  Whatever your thoughts and questions are, it is important to have them and for me, it is important to think of them often.  It is questions like this that make me think about where my priorities are and get me thinking about things that are more of eternal value instead of the instant gratification culture that we live in today.

I am particularly reflective about these questions this past week as a high school classmate of mine lost her precious 2 year old baby girl.  They put her to bed one night, only to find her the next morning not breathing.  I cannot even begin to imagine the pain she and her family are going through as they mourn her loss and being the mommy of a sweet 6 month old baby boy this hits close to home.

So…I ask you, do you know your purpose?  Do you take time to tell those you care about how much you love and appreciate them?  Do you take time to hold your child a little longer or pull your spouse a little closer?  Instead of living by the saying “You don’t know what you have until it’s gone?” Don’t wait until that someone or something is gone!  By then it is too late.  Embrace each day and make every moment count!

Leave a Reply

